The National State of Disaster has been extended to 15 January 2022, Minister in the Presidency, Mondli Gungubele announced on Thursday.

On Wednesday the National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD) reported 19,842 COVID-19 cases in South Africa.

The booster shot will be administered to all over 18s that have received two doses of the Pfizer vaccine.

They will be eligible six months after the second dose.

Those aged 12 and older with weak immune systems can take the dose 28 days after the second dose.

SAHPRA initially approved the use of the Pfizer vaccine in March this year.