A new look parliament.

CAPE TOWN – The election results have been declared and now the attention will turn to Parliament.

400 Members of Parliament will be sworn into the National Assembly next week, but while there will be new faces among the stalwarts in those benches, some familiar faces won’t be making a return.

The ANC will be returning with a smaller majority of 230 seats.

They have lost 19 seats in this election, while the EFF has gained that same number.

Together, both parties will still have a big enough majority to change the constitution.

The official opposition, the DA, has also had its presence trimmed by five seats.

But the IFP with 14, and the Freedom Front Plus with 10 seats will be taking up more space to round out the top 5 parties.

Political newcomers Good and the African Transformation Movement, will each take up two seats.

“Induction for new members is not a once off thing,” said Parliamentary Spokesperson Moloto Mothapo.

“For all members, it’s an ongoing capacity building programme that will take place throughout the five year period to ensure they continue to discharge their functions in a manner that is diligent and they become experts in lawmaking.”

The 2019 election has claimed the demise of Agang SA in Parliament.

Its vibrant leader Andries Tloumma won’t be back to serve up his biting one-liners.

After a decade as an MP, the chairperson of the standing committee on public accounts (Scopa), Themba Godi, also won’t be making a return.

His African People’s Convention has failed to secure a single seat.

Source: eNCA